Top Ten {Winter Comforts} Tuesday

It’s still winter everyone! I know it’s the first day of March and spring is just around the corner, but it’s still the bitter cold winter. And because I don’t want this season to pass without due gratitude, I’ve compiled a list of my top ten Winter comforts.

Hot Tea – We love chai over here, but without dairy my chai just seems a little lackluster. So I’ve been mixing it up with Dragon Pearl Jasmine and Moroccan Mint. With two babies in the house, a little caffeine is necessary. It doesn’t hurt that it smells so good and warms the body at the same time.

Books – I love children’s books. The beautiful art; the poetry; the cheerful images. Every day is a good day to read with your kids, but during the winter it just seems a little more special; a little cozier.

Snuggles – Ah yes. Family snuggles. Miles likes to climb in our bathrobes and snuggle up. It’s pretty dang cute. A cup of tea, a good book and family snuggles… who’s going to complain about that?

Playdates – When the weather sucks and you’ve been stuck inside for a while, one of the greatest things is a playdate. The kids get to run around; the adults get to chat {with other adults!}. Playdates are even better when they include yummy food and hot tea.

Savory snacks – Braised short ribs, curry dishes, roasts, slow cooked meals. All the things that warm your house and make it smell so good all day long.

A clean house – If you’re going to spend a bunch of time inside… you’ve got to have a clean crib. Not always the simplest task when you have kids running around, but when they start to help it gets to be a lot more fun. Miles has recently taken to picking things up for us. The only problem is that he doesn’t exactly know what trash is and what it isn’t. So far we’ve found his underwear and an envelope with change in the garbage can. We better watch out for that guy.

Sewing and knitting projects – Things that keep you busy while keeping you warm and productive. I’m seaming a blanket right now and I love having it over my lap in the evening. I think about whom it will belong to when it’s completed and all who helped contribute to it and the love they sent along. And while this project would be just as meaningful in the middle of summer, it’s helping me {the “seamer”} stay warm through the few days it resides on my lap this winter.

Dinner dates with friends – Those meals you cooked all day long… share them with friends. Share the love and warmth with people you care about. I promise it will improve your cold winter days.

Evening television and movies – Of all the seasons to have decent TV and new movies, I’m grateful they make a good push in the winter. Snuggles and tea and a good movie… good times.

Dreaming of spring – This is hope. I like spending a little time each day thinking of what we will do when the temperature rises. Where we will hike, what we will grow, and what great treasures we’ll find. So while I think it’s important to enjoy the season you’re in, there’s nothing wrong with being hopeful for the next.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Top Ten {Winter Comforts} Tuesday

  1. Laura, I could not agree with you more… and the reading to our children… the best. I just found this local artist/story teller on Etsy. Turns out he is a friend of my friend Kate who teaches art to children in Northbend I think.. at least she did. Anyway, here is the link to one of his books and his site.

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/60830905/count-the-birdies-board-book-by-matthew, I am going to buy this one for Zoe.

    Happy reading.