On Change…

“The only constant is change”
– Heraclitus

I want to talk briefly about change.  I don’t want to be all self-help-y about it, but it’s one of my favorite things in life so I figure it deserves a mention.

Yesterday mid-morning I realized I would like to get a little more sleep in the evening in order to take advantage of an hour or two of quite time to myself in the morning hours.  While I know taking care of and raising two young children is certainly a job, I don’t feel completely productive if I haven’t done something for myself each day.  Whether that be knitting, sewing, reading a book or trying my hand at a new cooking method… it doesn’t much matter so long as it is something hands-on and something I love to do.  I found that the evening hours weren’t peak hours for me to do these things.  I’m tired and unfocused.  So I decided to make a change.  This morning I got up just before 7 (usually around 8:30), made myself a cup of tea, checked a few things online and began to knit.  It was perfect.  When the kids woke up, I was ready for them.  I was happy to see their smiling faces and I didn’t have to still wake up myself.  We then proceeded with our day as usual.  This small change has made such an impact on my day and I look forward to it again tomorrow.

I think about the times when I would drive to work every morning at the same time and how I would alter my route every couple of weeks or so just to get a new perspective.  I hear people say “I could drive to work in my sleep” and wonder why they don’t make a change.  I know folks who eat the same thing for breakfast day in and day out.  I know it’s something they enjoy and it’s their routine, but why not mix it up a bit?  Let your taste buds flourish.

The practice of adapting to change keeps us sharp. We will always need to have the ability to adapt to change.  It gets more difficult as we age but I’ll bet that’s mostly because we get complacent and just flow with our daily rhythm.  I like the spark that comes with change.  I like the new view it gives me.  I love that it keeps me sharp.  I challenge you to change one small park of your daily routine and make note of what new things you see or learn from that change.  Change isn’t easy, but it can bring great things.

Comments Off on On Change…

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.