Scallops & Pasta

Last night’s dinner turned out well.  Low maintenance comfort food that everyone devoured.

Inspired by a recipe found on Epicurious.  I’ll post what I did:

Ingredients:
8-10 ounces medium egg noodles
1 cup frozen peas
3/4 – 1 lb. large sea scallops
salt
black pepper
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1/2 cup white wine
1 sliced leek
2 cloves minced garlic
a couple pinches of red pepper flakes
2 tablespoons water
2/3 cup heavy cream
1/4 cup chopped fresh chives

Prep:
Cook noodles until almost al dente.  Add peas and cook 2 more minutes.  Drain and keep warm.
Season scallops w/S&P.  Melt butter in skillet over med-high heat.  Sear scallops on both sides until done.  Do not overcook.  Remove scallops and keep warm.
Add wine to skillet to deglaze.  Add leeks, garlic & red pepper flakes.  Scrape up any brown bits.  Add water and cream and reduce.  Season w/S&P.  Add chives.  Stir into pasta and peas, add scallops & serve.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Scallops & Pasta

  1. Yum… I will for sure try this one.

  2. northwestshift

    Looks like a great recipe! I’ll have to try it sometime soon!

    So, apparently my husband has started working with your mom…
    We just moved up from Oklahoma (I was raised here in the NW) and apparently have a few things in common. You blog – I blog. You knit – I crochet, etc. We’ll have to connect sometime!

    Oh, and I guess we also have a midwife in common :)

    Erika