Botanic Hat

It’s finished :)  I love how it turned out and might need one for myself.  Although I kind of think a family of matching hats might be a bit corny.  So we’ll see.

Pattern: Botanic Hat by Stephen West (Ravelry Link)
Yarns: MC – Malabrigo Merino Worsted, CC Berroco Blackstone Tweed
Needle size: I used size 6 throughout aiming for a slightly smaller hat
Size: Small adult hat (one size is given in the pattern)
Knit for: Chris aka Papa

Notes:  I knit the hat on small circular needles to begin and after about 4 rows of decrease, switched to magic loop.  If you do magic loop with this pattern, make sure on your MC rows on the last stitch of the round that you leave the CC that had been slipped WYIF in front of the stitch you purl.  Otherwise it will cross over that lovely slipped stitch pattern heading up the crown of the hat.  (hope this makes sense)

I probably could have gone down another needle size to get the size hat I was aiming for, but he thinks it fits well.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Botanic Hat

  1. I love it and the sweater you made your mother. That is amazing… very pretty and the butttons are my fav.

  2. thanks barb :) i still have to get pics of my mom wearing her sweater so i can show it off. i want to knit myself a sweater, but i’m waiting for the baby spit up phase to be over.