Day Two

It’s the 2nd of January and I’m here to update you on my 2011 challenge:

Pescatarianism is going well and is forcing me to pay even more attention to what goes in my body.  Surely I’m missing a couple things like Lamb Tikka Masala and those amazing braised short ribs from Sogno di Vino, but I’m really enjoying the challenge and know there are so many positive things to come out of it.  We had vegetarian Tikka Masala and Aloo Matar the other night, Miles and I have been snacking on local smoked salmon and cheese and crackers, and I plan on having fish tacos tonight.  I’ve had one slip up (yes, one can slip up in just a day) because I realized that I shouldn’t be eating things with chicken or beef stock.  I had soup yesterday that was made with chicken stock.  Oops.  I’ll pay attention to that next time…  And this is when I get excited about how this challenge is going to increase my awareness.

On crafting:
I recently cast-on a hat for Chris.  It’s Stephen West’s Botanic Hat.  I’m using Malabrigo Merino Worsted in a dark brown for the main color and Berroco Blackstone Tweed in green for the contrast color.  I love how soft the Tweed is (65% wool, 25% mohair, 10% angora rabbit hair) while still looking rustic.  Should be the perfect combo for Chris.

I’m still looking for the right wool felt to start making holiday ornaments and decorations for next year.  I figure if I don’t get started now, next December will arrive and I won’t have anything made.

And I’m collecting knit/crocheted blanket squares for a comfort blanket I’m putting together for the Williams family who lost baby Enzo on October 8th.  I’m in need of a few more squares so if you’d like to participate, please let me know.

Comments Off on Day Two

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.